Special to RattleandHumSports.com

TCUTCU sophomore Kyan Anderson was among the watch list of candidates released Thursday for the 2013 Bob Cousy Award. The annual honor, presented by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes college basketball’s top point guard.

Anderson makes his first career appearance on the list and gives TCU a nominee for the third consecutive season. Former Frog standout Hank Thorns was included each of the past two years.

This original list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 by Jan. 1, final 10 by Feb. 1 and final five by March 1. A Hall-of-Fame-appointed screening committee will be narrowing down the candidates, while a premier selection committee will ultimately choose the winner.

Both of the Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Monday, April 8 in Atlanta as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Anderson, in his second season as a starter for TCU, leads the Frogs and ranks among the Big 12 leaders this season in scoring (13.1 ppg), assists (3.7 apg), steals (1.6 spg), 3-pointers (1.5 3pg) and minutes played (34.1 mpg). Earlier this month, he became the first Frog in nearly a decade with three consecutive 20-point outings, while his 35-point effort during a Nov. 24 win over UAB ranks among the nation’s top individual performances this season.

A native of Fort Worth, Anderson had an immediate impact on arrival at TCU in 2011-12, culminating in him being named Mountain West Freshman of the Year. He started the final 22 games of the season, helping lead the Frogs to their first winning campaign and national postseason appearance in seven years. He finished the year secodn on the team in assists and 3-point shooting percentage, third in minutes played and 3-pointers made and fifth in scoring.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included: Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), D.J. Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and Kendall Marshall (North Carolina).

For more information on the Bob Cousy Award, log on to www.cousyaward.com.

Jahii Carson, Arizona State
Pierre Jackson, Baylor
Kerron Johnson, Belmont
Rotnei Clarke, Butler
Kwame Vaughn, Cal State Fullerton
Trey Freeman, Campbell
Andrew Lawrence, College of Charleston
Brian Barbour, Columbia
JP Kuhlman, Davidson
Frantz Massenat, Drexel
Quinn Cook, Duke
Miguel Paul, East Carolina
Derek Needham, Fairfield
Montay Brandon, Florida State
Devonta White, Georgia State
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga
Siyani Chambers, Harvard
Jordan Hulls, Indiana
Jake Odum, Indiana State
Korie Lucious, Iowa State
Devon Moore, James Madison
Tyreek Duren, La Salle
C.J. McCollum, Lehigh
Mackey McKnight, Lehigh
Anthony Ireland, Loyola Marymount
Cully Payne, Loyola Chicago
Michael Alvarado, Manhattan
Keith Appling, Michigan State
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Lorenzo Brown, NC State
Juan’ya Green, Niagara
Stallon Saldivar, Northern Arizona
Aaron Craft, Ohio State
D.J. Cooper, Ohio
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Ahmad Starks, Oregon State
Dylan Garrity, Sacramento State
Kwamain Mitchell, Saint Louis
Mike McCall Jr., Saint Louis
Xavier Thames, San Diego State
Evan Roquemore, Santa Clara
Nate Wolters, South Dakota State
Neil Watson, Southern Miss
Matthew Dellavedova, St. Mary’s (Calif.)
Chasson Randle, Stanford
Anthony Jackson, Stony Brook
Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse
Kyan Anderson, TCU
Johnathan Jordan, Texas A&M – Corpus Christi
Ricky Tarrant, Tulane
Anthony Marshall, UNLV
Trevor Releford, Alabama
Mark Lyons, Arizona
BJ Young , Arkansas
Justin Cobbs, California
Spencer Dinwiddie, Colorado
Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
Kevin Dillard, Dayton
Ray McCallum, Detroit Mercy
Troy Taylor, Evansville
Kenny Boynton, Florida
Scottie Wilbekin, Florida
Elijah Johnson, Kansas
Peyton Siva, Louisville
Pe’Shon Howard, Maryland
Chaz Williams, Massachusetts
Shane Larkin, Miami
Trey Burke, Michigan
Andre Hollins, Minnesota
Phil Pressey, Missouri
Deonte Burton, Nevada
Hugh Greenwood, New Mexico
Kendall Williams, New Mexico
Dexter Strickland, North Carolina
Eric Atkins, Notre Dame
Tray Woodall, Pittsburgh
Bruce Ellington, South Carolina
LaShay Page, South Carolina
Anthony Collins, South Florida
Trae Golden, Tennessee
Abdul Gaddy, Washington
Erick Green, Virginia Tech
Trey Sumler, Western Carolina
Malcolm Armstead, Wichita State
Kendrick Perry, Youngstown State