Final Four makes its North Texas return after nearly 30 years

2014 Final Four LogoNORTH TEXAS (Nov. 8, 2012) – The North Texas Local Organizing Committee (LOC), the group responsible for hosting the 2014 NCAA Men’s Final Four Basketball Championship to be played at Cowboys Stadium, today announced its structure. A 14-person board made up of regional leaders will govern the organization.

The committee also unveiled the logo for the 2014 Men’s Final Four.

The Final Four will be hosted by the Big 12 Conference and take place at Cowboys Stadium April 6-8, 2014.

Serving on the LOC’s Executive Committee is Charlotte Jones Anderson, Executive Vice President of the Dallas Cowboys; Rick Baker, President & CEO of the AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic; and Bob Bowlsby, Commissioner of the Big 12 Conference.

The LOC’s Board of Directors includes George Bayoud; Rolando Blackman, Dallas Mavericks great; Jay Burress, President/CEO of the Arlington Convention and Vistors Bureau; Noe Hinojosa, President & CEO of Estrada Hinojosa Co.; Philip Jones, CEO of the Dallas Convention and Visitors Bureau; Gina Puente, CEO and Co-Founder of Puente Enterprises, Inc.; Terdema Ussery, President and CEO of the Dallas Mavericks; John Stankey, Senior Vice President, AT&T; Kathy Saunders, VP and General Manger of KDFW FOX 4; Alan White, Chairman and CEO of PlainsCapital Bank; Frank Windegger, former TCU Athletic Director.

As a prelude to the 2014 NCAA Men’s Final Four, the stadium will host the 2013 NCAA Men’s Basketball South Regional on Friday, March 29 (“Sweet 16” games) and Sunday, March 31 (“Elite 8” games).  Tickets to the regional matchups are now on sale through Ticketmaster online at or by calling (800) 745-3000.

Fans can apply for tickets to the 2014 Men’s Final Four through the NCAA’s random selection process between March 18 and May 31, 2013. Visit for more details.

Cowboys Stadium is also the site for the 2013 South Regional, which takes place March 29 and 31. Tickets to those Sweet 16 and Elite 8 games are available by visiting

This will be the seventh Final Four played in Texas and the second in the North Texas region. Dallas’ Reunion Arena hosted the 1986 Final Four, won by the University of Louisville featuring freshman sensation Pervis Ellison. San Antonio hosted the Final Four in 1998, 2004 and 2008, while Houston hosted the event in 1971 and 2011. Houston is scheduled to host the 2016 Men’s Final Four as well.

“The Big 12 Conference is excited to be the host conference for the 2014 Final Four,” said Big 12 Commissioner Bob Bowlsby. “The logo is a wonderful design and is just one of many steps that will showcase the State of Texas, the Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area and the Big 12 Conference. We are proud to participate in unveiling the new logo for the 2014 version of March Madness.”